Faculty/Staff Directory Index

Alphabetic Index:

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 

 

Alphabetic Faculty Profiles

Ahmad Saatchi - Faculty


Faculty Associate



Nasia Safdar - Faculty


Associate Professor


ns2@medicine.wisc.edu, (608) 263-1545


Krishanu Saha - Faculty


Associate Professor


Personalized and Regenerative Medicine, Biomaterials Engineering, Stem Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Signal transduction, Systems biology, Synthetic biology, Evolution & optimization of signaling proteins and networks, Design principles of spatial and temporal control networks in cells
ksaha@wisc.edu, (608) 316-4313


Kewal Saluja - Faculty


Emeritus Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Sciences

Design for testability, Built-in self-test, Computer architecture, VLSI design and testing, Fault-tolerant computing
saluja@engr.wisc.edu,


Joshua San Miguel - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Sciences

Approximate computing, processor microarchitecture, intermittent computing, energy-harvesting IoT devices, branch prediction, value prediction, cache architectures, networks-on-chip.
jsanmiguel@wisc.edu, (608) 890-2635


Scott T. Sanders - Faculty


Professor


Mechanical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering

My group develops optical instrumentation and sensors that help solve critical problems in diverse areas including energy, manufacturing, and health.  Ongoing projects include:High-speed laser gas thermometer for use in engines, Optical sensor for measuring liquid fuel properties on board an aircraft, Diamond-window-based sensors for monitoring th...
stsanders@wisc.edu, (608) 262-3540


Jerry L. Sanders - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Automatic Assembly Systems, stochastic processes, flame cutting layout procedures, production systems
jlsanders@wisc.edu,


Bela Sandor - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Ancient chariots: comprehensive mechanics analysis and humanistic aspects, stress-strain in materials, fatigue and fracture of engineering materials, structures, joint systems, damage alleviation; fracture control, infrared thermographic stress analysis
sandor@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 255-4222


Suzannah Sandrik - Faculty


Faculty Associate


sandrik@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0764



John Santarius - Faculty


Research Professor Emeritus


santarius@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-1694


Bulent Sarlioglu - Faculty


Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering, WEMPEC, Mechanical Engineering, Interdisciplinary Professional Programs

Electric machines, drives, power electronics, Electric actuation systems, Automotive, aerospace, naval and renewable energy applications, Complex and interdisciplinary power system architecture
sarlioglu@wisc.edu, (608) 262-2703


Majid Sarmadi - Faculty


Professor


Finishing, Dyeing, Wettability, flammability of textiles, Plasma modifications of materials, Textile sustainability, chemical properties and structures of textile fibers
majidsar@wisc.edu, (608) 262-7492


Glenn A. Sather - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Stoichiometry, thermodynamics
gasather@facstaff.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1092


Mohamed Sawan - Faculty


Research Professor Emeritus


sawan@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-5093


Frank L. Scarpace - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Image processing, remote sensing
scarpace@facstaff.wisc.edu, (608) 263-3973


John Scharer - Faculty


Emeritus Professor


Electromagnetic wave propagation and antennas for communications, Free-electron and excimer lasers, Microwave and millimeter wave amplifiers, Computer simulation of and experiments on plasma waves and radiofrequency plasma sources for materials processing, Radiofrequency wave antenna coupling, heating and current drive in fusion plasmas
scharer@engr.wisc.edu,


James Jay Schauer - Faculty


Professor


Civil and Environmental Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical and Biological Engineering

I am interested in developing measurement and chemical characterization tools to quantitatively understand the origin and impacts of air pollution.  These tools are desgined to address the impacts of air pollution on human health, climate change and sensitive ecosystems, and to support the development of control strategies to mitigate the adverse ...
jjschauer@wisc.edu, (608) 262-4495


James P. Scherz - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


 developing basic GIS, archeoastronomy and mapping prehistoric sites, surveying, photogrammetry
scherz@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-7901


Alois Schlack Jr. - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Dynamics, vibrations, astrodynamic, dynamic stability analysis, rotating shaft-disc systems, elastic spacecraft dynamics
schlack@engr.wisc.edu,


Oliver Schmitz - Faculty


Professor


Plasma Edge Physics, Plasma Wall Interaction, Three-Dimensional Plasma Edge Transport and Wall Interaction, Helicon Plasma Generation and Sustainment, Active Plasma and Neutral Spectroscopy, Plasma Sources and Diagnostics, Atomic Modeling for Plasma Diagnostics, Laser-Based Plasma Spectroscopy, Next Generation Plasma Wakefield Accelerators
oschmitz@wisc.edu, (608) 263-1547


Donald Schramm - Faculty


Faculty Emeritus


Interdisciplinary Professional Programs, College of Engineering

Building energy design, Creativity, Disaster management, Distance learning, International engineering, Lighting design 

dschramm@wisc.edu,


Marcel Schreier - Faculty


Richard H. Soit Assistant Professor


Electrocatalysis, Electrified interfaces, Electrochemical energy storage, Interfacial charge transfer, Electrocatalysis provides a fascinating opportunity to interconvert electrical and chemical energy. In this regard, our group aims to extend the scope of electrochemical reactivity beyond small molecules like water and carbon dioxide. This wo...
mschreier2@wisc.edu,


Michael J. Schulte - Faculty


Associate Professor


Domain-Specific Processor Design, Reconfigurable Computing, Computer Arithmetic, Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems
schulte@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0206



William A. Sethares - Faculty


Professor


Signal processing with applications in acoustics, image processing, communications, and optimization.
sethares@wisc.edu, (608) 262-5669


Eric L Severson - Faculty


Assistant Professor, Grainger Institute Fellow


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

My research resides at the intersection of electrical, mechanical, and computer engineering, and includes the following thrusts:Design and precision control of electric machines and power electronics, Magnetic levitation (primarily bearingless motors and magnetic bearings), High speed rotors, Flywheel energy storage, Vehicle and hydraulic system electr...
eric.severson@wisc.edu, (608) 890-1301


Dhavan V. Shah - Faculty


Professor


dshah@facstaff.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0388


Vadim Shapiro - Faculty


Bernard A. and Frances M. Weideman Professor Emeritus


Mechanical Engineering, Computer Sciences

Model-Based Engineering, Digital design, manufacturing, and simulation, Geometric, solid, and physical modeling, Cyber-physical systems
vshapiro@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-3591



Andrew I. Sheinis - Faculty


Assistant Professor


sheinis@astro.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0492


Leyuan Shi - Faculty


Professor


Simulation modeling, large-scale optimization, supply chain optimization, production planning and scheduling
leyuan@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 265-5969



J. Leon Shohet - Faculty


Emeritus Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering

Plasma-aided manufacturing, nonlinear science, effects of vacuum ultraviolet radiation on the processing of electronic materials, biotechnology, especially biomaterials and directed differentiation of stem cells, surface barrier discharges for covalent bonding of biomolecules, controlled fusion
shohet@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1191


Eric V. Shusta - Faculty


Howard Curler Distinguished Professor and R. Byron Bird Department Chair


Chemical and Biological Engineering, Biomedical Engineering

Brain drug delivery, blood-brain barrier modeling, biopharmaceutical design, protein engineering
eshusta@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1092


Daniel Sidney - Faculty


Assistant Visiting Scientist



Hannah Silber - Faculty


Lecturer



Karl A. Sillay - Faculty


Assistant Professor


k.sillay@neurosurg.wisc.edu, 6082630485,6082632206


Matt Sinclair - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Sciences

Computer architecture, heterogeneous systems, computer memory system design, mobile computing, parallel algorithms, processor microarchitecture
msinclair@wisc.edu,


Melissa Skala - Faculty


Carol Skornicka Chair; RRF Daniel M. Albert Chair; Professor


Optical imaging, Tissue engineering, Cancer, Metabolism, Immunology and cancer immunotherapy, Machine Learning, High-throughput tool development, Cell-cell interactions, Cellular heterogeneity, Translational research
mcskala@wisc.edu, (608) 316-4108


Bart Skarzynski - Faculty


Assistant Faculty Associate


bskarzynski@wisc.edu, (608) 262-5171


Lloyd M. Smith - Faculty


Professor


Development of novel methods for the analysis and manipulation of nucleic acids, DNA sequence analysis, DNA diagnostics, molecular computing, surface chemistry, fluorescence, mass spectrometry (MALDI and electrospray), robotics/automation and informatics
smith@chem.wisc.edu, (608) 263-2594


Thomas W. Smith - Faculty


MS, Faculty Emeritus


Interdisciplinary Professional Programs, College of Engineering

Management Systems applied to asset management and sustainability, Organizational strategy for asset management and sustainability, Competency Modelling, Distance Learning
twsmith@wisc.edu,


Maureen Smith - Faculty


Professor


maureensmith@wisc.edu, (608) 262-4802


Michael J. Smith - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Human factors and ergonomics, occupational safety, job-related stress, work organization design and management, job design
mjsmith@cae.wisc.edu, (608) 263-6329


James Smith - Faculty


Emeritus Professor


Computer ArchitectureComputational Neuroscience
jes@ece.wisc.edu,


Amanda Smith - Faculty


Assistant Teaching Professor
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Affairs


amanda.smith@wisc.edu, (608) 890-3423



Gurindar S. Sohi - Faculty


Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Sciences

Computer architecture, non-numeric processing, VLSI design, parallel processin
sohi@cs.wisc.edu, (608) 262-7985


Hiroki Sone - Faculty


Associate Professor


Geological Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Experimental rock mechanics, geomechanics of petroleum and geothermal reservoirs, fault and earthquake mechanics, long-term deformation of shales and fault rocks, in-situ stress and heterogenity, rock physics
hsone@wisc.edu, (608) 890-0531


William C. Sonzogni - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Civil and Environmental Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology

Environmental toxicology, water resources management, chemical limnology, analytical chemistry of pollutants, fate and transport of toxic contaminants
sonzogni@facstaff.wisc.edu, (608) 224-6200


Carl R. Sovinec - Faculty


Associate Chair for Graduate Studies, Thomas and Suzanne Werner Professor


Computational plasma physics--magnetohydrodynamics--numerical methods for partial differential equations
csovinec@wisc.edu, (608) 263-5525


Saverio E. Spagnolie - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Fluid Mechanics, Soft Matter, Biophysics, Applied Mathematics, Numerical Methods
spagnolie@math.wisc.edu, (608) 262-3852


Edgar Spalding - Faculty


Professor


spalding@wisc.edu, (608) 265-5294


Michael Speidel - Faculty


Associate Professor



Mike Sracic - Faculty


Teaching Faculty II



Kumar Sridharan - Faculty


Grainger Professor,
Departments of Engineering Physics and Materials Science & Engineering; Fellow of: American Society for Materials; Institute of Materials (UK); American Nuclear Society


Engineering Physics, Materials Science and Engineering

Nuclear reactor materials research and development, Irradiation effects in materials, Corrosion of materials, High temperature materials, Physical metallurgy and mechanical behavior of materials, Ion implantation and plasma-assisted thin film deposition of materials, Surface modifications and coatings including nanoscale processes and materials, Emergi...
kumar.sridharan@wisc.edu, (608) 263-4789


Linsey Steege - Faculty


Assistant Professor


lsteege@wisc.edu, (608) 263-5191


Harold Steudel - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Development of statistical modeling, analysis and management techniques for the design and improvement of manufacturing systems such areas as the design, evaluation and management of continuous flow/cellular manufacturing systems for just-in-time (JIT) operations., Design and implementation of quality management systems in health care and manufacturing...
steudel@ie.engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-9927


Warren E. Stewart - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Parameter estimation and model discrimination, computational modeling, chemical reactors, fractionation systems, transport phenomena
,


Donald Stone - Faculty


Professor and Associate Chair of Graduate Studies


Metals and alloys, ceramics, polymers, composites, amorphous alloys, biological materials, thin films, microscopic specimens, kinetics, thermodynamics, mechanical properties: creep, plasticity, fracture, scale effects
dsstone@wisc.edu,


Andrea Strzelec - Faculty


Assistant Faculty Associate


Interdisciplinary Professional Programs, College of Engineering

Dr. Strzelec’s research interests are in the area of combustion and heterogeneous reaction kinetics and characterization with specific focus on automotive emissions aftertreatment; low temperature catalysis; particulate filtration; pyrolysis; and remediation of hydrocarbon contamination. She has been PI (7), Co-PI (2) or Co-I (5) of 14 sponsored ...
strzelec@wisc.edu,


Darilis Suarez-Gonzalez - Faculty


Associate Chair of the Masters Degree Program and Teaching Faculty II



Aaron Suminski - Faculty


Senior Scientist


Neural Control of Upper Limb Movement, Brain-Machine Interface, Functional Neuroimaging, Development of MR Compatible Devices
asuminski@wisc.edu, (608) 263-6963


Krishnan Suresh - Faculty


Mead Witter Foundation Professor


Mechanical Engineering, Engineering Physics

Topology Optimization, Design for Additive Manufacturing, Computational Mechanics, High-Peformance Computing, Advanced Finite Element Analysis, Finite Element Mesh Generation
ksuresh@wisc.edu, (608) 262-3594


Rajan Suri - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Lead time reduction and quick response manufacturing, POLCA and other alternatives to Kanban for material control, queuing network models for manufacturing systems analysi
suri@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0921


Masatoshi Suzuki - Faculty


Associate Professor


Applications of stem cell technology for neuromusuclar and musculoskeletal diseases, bioengineered in vitro modeling to understand skeletal muscle biology and diseases, regenerative medicine, cell-based therapy, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)


Ross E. Swaney - Faculty


Associate Professor


Process systems design, modeling, and optimization.  Process modeling with guaranteed convergence.  Flowsheet synthesis of separation processes.
ross.swaney@wisc.edu, (608) 262-3641


Tim Peter Szczykutowicz - Faculty


Assistant Professor



Izabela Szlufarska - Faculty


Harvey D. Spangler Professor of Engineering and Department Chair


Materials Science and Engineering, Engineering Physics

Computational materials science, Mechanical behavior at the nanoscale, Defect behavior in semiconductors and insulators under irradiation, Solid/liquid interfaces, Nucleation and kinetics of medium range order in bulk metallic glasses
szlufarska@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1821