Faculty/Staff Directory Index

Alphabetic Index:

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 

 

Alphabetic Faculty Profiles

Russ Haas - Faculty


Faculty Associate


rehaas@wisc.edu, (608) 265-3032


Susan Hagness - Faculty


Department Chair, Philip Dunham Reed Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Biomedical Engineering

Bioelectromagnetics, computational electromagnetics, dielectric spectroscopy, FDTD theory and applications, including multi-physics solvers, microwave diagnostic and therapeutic techniques for biological and medical applications, microwave ablation antennas and systems, microwave thermoacoustics, microwave inverse scattering, microwave breast imaging, ...
susan.hagness@wisc.edu, (608) 265-5739


Aviad Hai - Faculty


Vilas Early Career Assistant Professor


Biomedical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Neural engineering, Neuroscience, Neuroimaging, Nanoelectronics & Nanofabrication, Brain Machine Interfaces, Research at UW
ahai@wisc.edu, (608) 890-3411


Bezalel C. Haimson - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Materials Science and Engineering, Geological Engineering

Rock mechanics, failure modes in rocks, true triaxial strength criteria, borehole instability and breakouts, strain localization in high porosity sandstones and compaction bands, rock stress and in situ stress measurements, hydraulic fracturing
bhaimson@wisc.edu, (608) 262-2563


Timothy Hall - Faculty


Professor


Medical ultrasound, Wave propagation in inhomogeneous media, Characterization of media based on interactions with ultrasonic waves, Viscoelasticity, Nonlinear hyperelasticity, Measurement of the fundamental mechanical properties of soft tissues, Development of test tools and teaching tools for ultrasonic imaging systems, Signal and image processing, Im...
tjhall@wisc.edu, (608) 265-9459


Robert Hamers - Faculty


Professor


Physical and chemical propertes of molecular-based materialsmolecular electronicsnanoscale assembly techniques for molecular systemschemical and structural characterization of surfacesinterfaces between inorganic materials and organic/biological materials
rjhamers@wisc.edu, (608) 262-6371


Jesse Hampton - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Civil and Environmental Engineering, Geological Engineering

Experimental geomechanics, geophysics, and petrophysics, induced seismicity, non-destructive evaluation, acoustic emission, anisotropy/heterogeneity, damage, fractures, and material behavior, upscaling/downscaling, artificial intelligence in geological engineering, digital rock physics/mechanics
jesse.hampton@wisc.edu,


Yehui Han - Faculty


Assistant Professor


    Power Electronics, High-Power-Density Integrated Machine Drives, Battery Management Systems, Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency
    yehui@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-2126


Jo Handelsman - Faculty


Director of the Wisconsin Institute for Discover


The Handelsman Lab uses multidisciplinary techniques to understand the structure and function of microbiomes. Our lab applies metagenomics, genetics, and small molecule chemistry, to study biochemistry and genetic regulation of antibiotic production, microbial diversity, antibiotic resistance, and symbioses in communities in soil, on plant roots, and i...
jo.handelsman@wisc.edu, (608) 316-4555


Amgad Hanna - Faculty


MD, Professor


Dr. Hanna’s lab investigates novel interventions to improve functional recovery after spinal cord injury (SCI) and nerve regeneration.Research at the UW
hanna@neurosurgery.wisc.edu, (608) 255-4223


Awad Hanna - Faculty


Boldt Company Professor in Construction and Engineering Management


Civil and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering, Construction Engineering and Management Program

Construction  productivity measurement and management of human resources, Intergrated Project Delivery and Lean Construction, Change Mangement and Cumulative Impact of Change Orders, Risk Management and Proper Allocation of Risks, Mathematical Modeling for Decision Making, Project Control and Eraned Value Analysis, Electrical, Mechanical, and Shee...
ashanna@wisc.edu, (608) 263-8903


Gregory Harrington - Faculty


Professor & Department Chair


Civil and Environmental Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology

Environmental engineering, aquatic chemistry in treatment and distribution of drinking water, removal of waterborne pathogens and other microbes during drinking water treatment and distribution, mathematical modeling of disinfectant decay, disinfection byproduct formation, and microbial growth & inactivation, reducing energy use and associated cost...
gwharrin@wisc.edu, (608) 695-3380


Rod Hassett - Faculty


Adjunct Professor



Bulent Hatipoglu - Faculty


Adjunct Professor



Brock Hedegaard - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Time-dependent behavior of concrete, Post-tensioned concrete structures, Structural monitoring, Multiscale modeling
hedegaard@wisc.edu, (608) 890-3276


Chris Hegna - Faculty


Harvey D. Spangler Professor


Theoretical plasma physics, fusion science, magnetic confinement of plasmas, magnetohydrodynamics
cchegna@wisc.edu, (608) 263-0810


Bryan Heiderscheit - Faculty


Professor


Neuromuscular adaptations to injury and aging, Gait mechanics, Running injuries, Orthopedics and Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation, Research at the UW 
heiderscheit@ortho.wisc.edu, (608) 263-5428


Eric E. Hellstrom - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Materials Science and Engineering, Materials Science Program

Synthesis, characterization and application of electrical ceramics, solid electrolytes, high-temperature oxide superconductors
hellstrom@engr.wisc.edu, (850) 645-7489


Phillip Helmke - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Research interests include concentrations and behavior of the chemical elements in the various phases and components of the so il-water-plant system and reaction pathways of the elements in this important bio-geochemical system, bio-availability and upt ake of elements by plants and to the behavior of elements added to soils from recycled wastes ...
pahelmke@facstaff.wisc.edu,



Corinne Henak - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering

Mechanical and biological responses of cartilage to injury, Orthopedic soft tissue materials characterization, Finite element modeling
chenak@wisc.edu, (608) 263-1619


Douglass Henderson - Faculty


Harvey D. Spangler Professor


Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics, Biomedical Engineering

Reactor physics, radiation transport, fusion reactor technology, nuclear waste
henderson@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-0808


Ive Hermans - Faculty


John and Dorothy Vozza & Evan P. and Marion Helfaer Professor


Sustainable chemistry and catalysis engineering
hermans@chem.wisc.edu,


Antonio Hernandez - Faculty


Teaching Faculty II


ahernandez2@wisc.edu, (608) 446-3698




Noah Hershkowitz - Faculty


Irving Langmuir Professor Emeritus


Plasma etching, plasm-aided manufacturing, basic plasma physics, ICRF effects, laboratory space plasma physics
hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-4970


John L. Hetland - Faculty


Adjunct Professor


Expertise is in the Construction Management of complex projects., Expertise in Design Build delivery of projects, Interest and knowledge in Lean techniques for deliverying projects, Process development, lessons learned and constraint management.
jhetland@wisc.edu, (608) 410-8207


Andrea Hicks - Faculty


Keith and Jane Nosbusch Associate Professor


Civil and Environmental Engineering, Geological Engineering, Freshwater and Marine Sciences

-Sustainability-Environmental systems analysis and optimization-Life cycle assessment-Agent-based modeling-Rebound effect-Environmental implications of technology -Engineering and sustainability education 
hicks5@wisc.edu,


Charles G. Hill - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Chemical and Biological Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology

    immobilized enzyme technology, kinetics and catalysis, membrane separations, photocatalysis, wood adhesives, new bleaching technology
    cghill@wisc.edu, (608) 263-4593


Mark Hill - Faculty


Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Sciences

Computer architecture, performance evaluation, computer memory system design, parallel computin
markhill@cs.wisc.edu, (608) 262-2196


Charles Hirst - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Nuclear materials, Radiation damage, In situ experiments, Coupled extremes, Irradiation creep mechanisms, Gradient experiments, Thermal analysis, Defect recovery stages, Differential Scanning Calorimetry, Stored energy
cahirst@wisc.edu,


William Hitchon - Faculty


Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering

Plasma processing, computational modeling, semiconductors
whitchon@wisc.edu, (608) 262-2501


Kevin L. Hoag - Faculty


Associate Faculty Associate



Franklin Hobbs - Faculty


Assistant Teaching Professor


Teaching and Learning, Course Development, Diversity and Inclusion, Earth and Natural Materials, Crystallography, Crystal Chemistry
fhobbs@wisc.edu, (608) 262-3971


Kent Hobson - Faculty


Adjunct Assistant Professor Emeritus


Computer graphics, geometric modeling, computer-aided design, architectural and engineering graphics
hobson@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-2893


Eric Hoffman - Faculty


Teaching Faculty


erichoffman@wisc.edu, (608) 212-3461



Seungpyo Hong - Faculty


Milton J. Henrichs Chair, Professor


Biomimetic nanotechnology, Nano-bio interactions, Targeted drug delivery for immunotherapy, Liquid biopsy, Cancer diagnostics/prognostics, Surface engineering
seungpyo.hong@wisc.edu, (608) 890-0699


Yu Hen Hu - Faculty


Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Sciences

Design and implementation of signal processing algorithms, Computer aided design and physical design of VLSI,, Applications of pattern classification and machine learning algorithms to signal processing, Image and video signal processing: 3D vision processing, multiview image and videos, , Wireless sensor network, internet of things and distributi...
yhhu@wisc.edu, (608) 262-6724


Jiamian Hu - Faculty


Assistant Professor, Grainger Institute for Engineering Fellow


jhu238@wisc.edu, (608) 262-6009


Quanyin Hu - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Drug delivery, Cell engineering, Cell therapy, Immunotherapy, Nanotechnology/Nanomedicine, Biomaterials, Material Sciences
qhu66@wisc.edu, (608) 262-3814


Tzu Chuen Huang - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Astrodynamics, nonlinear and random vibrations, structural dynamics/modal analysis, wave propogration, fluid-structure interaction
huang@engr.wisc.edu,


Hao Huang - Faculty


Adjunct Professor


Aircraft Electrical Systems, Electrified Aircraft Propulsions, Power Electronics and Electric Machines, Additive Manufacturing Technologies for Aircraft Electromagnetic Components
hhuang394@wisc.edu,


Tsung-Wei (TW) Huang - Faculty


Assistant Professor


My research group creates novel software systems to simplify the building of performance-critical applications, including computer-aided design, machine learning, and quantum computing. Our software systems have been used by thousands of people in both academia and industry (e.g., AMD Vivado, Nvidia GameWorks, ModuleWorks, etc.).
tsung-wei.huang@wisc.edu, (512) 815-9195


George Huber - Faculty


Richard L. Antoine Professor


Biofuels and Biochemicals, Heterogeneous Catalysis, Pyrolysis, Plastic Recycling, Biodegradable Polymers
gwhuber@wisc.edu, (608) 263-0346


Kathryn Huibregtse - Faculty


Adjunct Professor


Wastewater treatment, landfill cover design, site and groundwater assessments, Brownfield site clean-ups, and sediment assessment and remidiation.
khuibregtse@wisc.edu,


Derek Hungness - Faculty


Adjunct Professor


Travel demand forecast model application and improvement, Sustainable mobility systems
djhungness@wisc.edu, (608) 630-0667


James P. Hurley - Faculty


Professor and Director, Aquatic Sciences Center


Civil and Environmental Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology, Freshwater and Marine Sciences

Chemical limnology, mercury in the environment, natural organic matter, nutrient cycling in lakes and rivers, Great Lakes research, bioaccumulation of toxic contaminants, chemical interactions at the sediment-water interfac
jphurley@wisc.edu, (608) 262-0905


Anna Huttenlocher - Faculty


MD, Professor


Huttenlocher’s research focuses on understanding inflammation and its resolution. Her lab investigates how external cues and cell signaling networks regulate immune cell migration during tissue damage and repair and how this is altered in human disease. The Huttenlocher laboratory uses live imaging to visualize and manipulate leukocyte motility i...
huttenlocher@wisc.edu, (608) 265-4642