Faculty/Staff Directory Index

Alphabetic Index:

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 

 

Alphabetic Faculty Profiles

Robert G. Radwin - Faculty


Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor


Industrial and Systems Engineering, Biomedical Engineering

Occupational ergonomics and biomechanics, Ergonomics design of manually operated products, hand tools and equipment, Measurements and methods for assessing exposure to physical stress in the workplace, Causes and prevention of work related musculoskeletal injuries, Quantifying functional deficits associated with musculosk...
rradwin@wisc.edu, (608) 263-6596


Kenneth W. Ragland - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Fluid dynamics, combustion processes, bioenergy, air pollution control
ragland@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-3231


John Raksany - Faculty


Faculty Emeritus


Interdisciplinary Professional Programs, College of Engineering

Electrical power, electrical design, power systems planning, power systems reliability analysis methods, power systems maintenance, power system protection and control
jaraksany@wisc.edu,


Vatsan Raman - Faculty


Associate Professor


Systems and synthetic biology, protein design, biosensors, synthetic bacteriophages, high-throughput functional assays, sequence-function landscapes
sraman4@wisc.edu, (608) 890-1036


Parameswaran (Parmesh) Ramanathan - Faculty


Professor and Associate Dean, Graduate School


Electrical and Computer Engineering, Computer Sciences

Wireless and Wireline Networks, Mobile Computing, Real-time Systems, Fault-tolerant Computing, Parallel Processing, Distributed Systems
parmesh.ramanathan@wisc.edu, (608) 263-0557


Edmond Ramly - Faculty


Assistant Professor


ramly@wisc.edu, (608) 698-4656


Bin Ran - Faculty


Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor


Connected and Automated Vehicle & Highway (CAVH):New Generations of Traffic Models & Highway Capacity Manual for CAVH Level 1-4, New Generations of Highway Design and Operations Guide for CAVH Level 1-4, Automated Highway System Technology Development, 3D GIS-T Applications for Connected and Automated Vehicle & Highway, Intelligent Transpor...
bran@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0052


Franklin Rath - Faculty


Faculty Emeritus


Interdisciplinary Professional Programs, College of Engineering

Manufacturing and industrial engineering, ergonomics, lead-time reduction, quality systems, design through manufacture, failure mode and effects analysis, quality function deployment
fjrath@wisc.edu,


Amish N. Raval - Faculty


MD, Professor


In addition to being the UW Director of Clinical Cardiovascular Research, Dr. Raval’s translational research focus is development and therapeutic delivery of biologic agents, including stem cells and scaffolds for cardiac and vascular disease.  He has numerous peer-reviewed publications and patents in this field.  He is the principal in...
anr@medicine.wisc.edu, (608) 263-0836


James B. Rawlings - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Chemical process control, nonlinear model predictive control., State estimation and monitoring., Chemical reaction engineering., Virus modeling and stochastic chemical kinetics
james.rawlings@wisc.edu, (608) 263-5859


W. Harmon Ray - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Polymerization processes, process optimization, dynamics and control, chemical reactor engineering
whray@wisc.edu, (608) 263-4732



William G. Reddan - Faculty


Associate Professor Emeritus


Itercollegiate athletics, ergonomics, stress, pulmonary physiology, work environ, aging
reddan@wisc.edu,


Jennifer Reed - Faculty


Karen and William Monfre Professor; Harvey D. Spangler Faculty Scholar


Chemical and Biological Engineering, Biomedical Engineering

Systems biology, Metabolic model development & analysis, Metabolic engineering, Biofuels, bioremediation, & biotechnology
jennifer.reed@wisc.edu, (608) 262-0188


Jess Reed - Faculty


Professor Emeritus



Scott B. Reeder - Faculty


MD, Professor


Research interests are in the areas of cardiovascular and abdominal MRI, particularly in the development of rapid and quantitative imaging techniques, including rapid cardiac imaging methods, and novel fat-water separation techniques. More recent areas of interest include molecular imaging and MRI.sreeder@wisc.edu, (608) 265-9964


Douglas T. Reindl - Faculty


Professor


Mechanical Engineering, Interdisciplinary Professional Programs

Industrial refrigeration systems and technologies, safety and process safety management, renewable energy, advanced thermal storage technologies, thermal systems, HVAC systems
dreindl@wisc.edu, (608) 262-6381


Rolf Reitz - Faculty


Wisconsin Distinguished Professor Emeritus


Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Combustion, gas dynamics, sprays-motion & formation, hydrocarbon kinetics, engine fluid dynamics, computer modeling
reitz@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0145


Christy Remucal - Faculty


Professor


Civil and Environmental Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology, Freshwater and Marine Sciences

Dr. Remucal’s Aquatic Chemistry research group works in two major areas. First, we investigate the transformation of polar organic contaminants in both natural and engineering aquatic systems. Contaminants of interests include aquatic pesticides, pharmaceuticals, and per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS). We are interested in photochemical r...
remucal@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1820


Amanda Renz - Faculty


Director of Learning Design Technology


Interdisciplinary Professional Programs, College of Engineering

Online teaching and learning Faculty developmentLeadershipAgile project managment 
amanda.renz@wisc.edu,


Steven Reusser - Faculty


Adjunct Professor



Daniel Rhodes - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Materials Science and Engineering, Physics

Single Crystal Synthesis, Superconductivity, 2-D Materials, Topological Materials (Dirac, Weyl, HOTI), Defect Kinetics
darhodes@wisc.edu,


Line Roald - Faculty


Associate Professor, Grainger Institute Fellow


Modelling, optimization and control of energy systems., Integration of renewable energy and resilience to uncertain events., Stochastic optimization.
roald@wisc.edu, (608) 265-7815


JoAnne Robbins - Faculty


Professor


jrobbin2@wisc.edu, (608) 280-7000



Stephen M. Robinson - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Industrial and Systems Engineering, Computer Sciences

Variational analysis and optimization, Quantitative methods in managerial economics, Methods to support decision under uncertainty
smrobins@wisc.edu, (608) 263-6862


James Robinson - Faculty


Senior Scientist



Eric Roden - Faculty


Professor


Research interests include Biogeochemistry of aquatic environments, emphasizing in siturates of and controls on microbial metabolism in anaerobic soils and sediments; role of anaerobic microbial processes in geochemical cycling and energy flow in sedimentary systems; physiology and ecology of anaerobic respiratory bacteria; influence of anaerobic...
eroden@geology.wisc.edu, (608) 890-0724



Lennon Rodgers - Faculty


Director of the Grainger Engineering Design Innovation Labs, Associate Teaching Professor



Jose Israel Rodriguez - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Algebraic Statistics, Applied algebraic geometry, Numerical nonlinear algebra
jRodriguez43@wisc.edu,


Jeffrey Roessler - Faculty


Lecturer


Distance Education, Computer-Aided-Design, Engineering Graphics
roessler@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-4815


Jeremy Rogers - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Biophotonics, Microscopy, Spectroscopy, Optical design and instrumentation, Computational simulation and Monte Carlo ray tracing, Theoretical models of light scattering in tissue
jdrogers5@wisc.edu, (608) 262-8357


Kevin J Rogers - Faculty


Faculty Associate / Program Director



Karl Rohe - Faculty


Associate Professor


Social network analysis, data science
karlrohe@stat.wisc.edu,


Alejandro Roldan-Alzate (he/him) - Faculty


Associate Professor


Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering

Cardiovascular fluid dynamics, Medical imaging based computational fluid dynamics, Patient specific in vitro experiments, Patient specific virtual surgery, In vivo and In vitro 4D flow MRI, Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV)
roldan@wisc.edu, (608) 265-3696


Philip Romero - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Protein engineering, synthetic biology, computational biology, machine learning, high-throughput technology
promero2@wisc.edu, (608) 262-5943


Thatcher Root - Faculty


Professor


Chemical and Biological Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology

Surface chemistry, catalysis, diffusion in porous media, solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy
twroot@wisc.edu,


Howard Rosen, PhD - Faculty


Faculty Emeritus


Interdisciplinary Professional Programs, College of Engineering

Public works infrastructure, municipal engineering, stormwater hyraulics, docks and marinas, building code, transportation research and history
hrosen@wisc.edu, (608) 262-4341


Ari Rosenberg - Faculty


Assistant Professor


The Rosenberg lab explores the following questions and problems:3D Vision: How do we perceive the three-dimensional (3D) structure of the world when our eyes only sense 2D projections like a movie on a screen?, Multisensory Integration: Our visual system first encodes the environment in egocentric coordinates defined by our eyes. Such representations a...
ari.rosenberg@wisc.edu, (608) 265-5782


Paul Ross - Faculty


Faculty Associate


Technical communication
pross@epd.engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-5171


Josh Roth (he/him) - Faculty


Assistant Professor


Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering

Research in the lab utilizes a combination of experimental and computational methodologies and falls under three primary themes: ‚Äč     1. Transform the planning of personalized treatments for musculoskeletal injuries and diseases     2. Develop innovative technologies to strengthen intraoperative and diagnostic decision-...
jdroth2@wisc.edu,


David Rothamer (he/him) - Faculty


Robert Lorenz Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Associate Dean for Research


Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering, Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics

Laser based diagnostics, Internal combustion engines, Soot formation, Influence of fuel properties on combustion
rothamer@wisc.edu, 608.890.2271


Mark Rounds - Faculty


Adjunct Professor


rounds2@wisc.edu, (414) 303-6064


Robert Rowlands - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering

Laser applications to mechanics, composite and advanced materials, digital image analysis, structural mechanics, experimental mechanics and stress analysis
rowlands@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-3205


Jinia Roy - Faculty


Thomas A. Lipo Assistant Professor


Electrical and Computer Engineering, WEMPEC

Wideband gap based power converters for pulsed power, renewable, and EV applications - analysis, simulation, and experiemental validation.
jinia.roy@wisc.edu,



Dale F. Rudd - Faculty


Professor Emeritus


After retirement in 1994 Sandy and I moved to Seattle. Our home has a wide view of Puget Sound and the snow-capped mountains of Olympic National Park. Our children Karen and David both live within walking distance. The Pacific Northwest is great.
daleandsandy@yahoo.com, (206) 923-0359


Shiva Rudraraju (he/him) - Faculty


Assistant Professor
Grainger Institute for Engineering Faculty Scholar


Computational Mechanics, Multiphysics (Mechanics and Transport), Biophysics, Finite Element Method, IGA, High performance computing. 
shiva.rudraraju@wisc.edu,


Stephan Rudykh - Faculty


Assistant Professor
Grainger Institute for Engineering Faculty Scholar


Mechanics of soft materials, elastic instabilities, micromechanics, 3D-printing of soft materials, soft biological and bio-inspired materials, acoustic/elastic metamaterials, waves in soft matter, active materials
rudykh@wisc.edu, (608) 262-8193


Jeffrey Russell - Faculty


Professor


russell@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-5821


Thomas Rutherford - Faculty


Professor


Energy markets, climate policy, international trade, technical change and computational economics
rutherford@aae.wisc.edu,


Christopher Rutland - Faculty


Phil and Jean Myers Professor Emeritus


Computational fluid dynamics, turbulence, combustion, and spray modeling for IC engines, turbulent reacting flows, large eddy simulation, IC engine aftertreatment modeling
rutland@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-5853


Gary Rylander - Faculty


Adjunct Professor


Transportation Engineering, Traffic Engineering, Traffic Operations, Safety and Management, Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS)
grylander@wisc.edu, (612) 747-2723


Mark Rzchowski - Faculty


Associate Professor