Tracey Holloway



Profile Photo

Room: 608-262-5356
Room 201A Enzyme Institute
1710 University Ave.
Madison, WI 53726

Profile Summary

Tracey Holloway is a Professor in the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies and the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences (AOS) at the University of Wisconsin--Madison, with affiliate appointments in Civil and Environmental Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. Dr. Holloway leads an air quality research program in the Nelson Institute Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE) using computer models and satellite data to understand links between regional air quality, energy, and climate. Holloway earned her Ph.D. in AOS from Princeton University in 2001, and completed a certificate in Science, Technology, and Environmental Policy from the Princeton School of Public and International Affairs. Her undergraduate degree (Sc.B.) is from Brown University in Applied Mathematics, and her post-doctoral work was done at Columbia University's Earth Institute.

Dr. Holloway serves as two-time director of the NASA Health and Air Quality Applied Sciences Team (2016-2020 and 2021-2025), with research supported by NASA, EPA, the Joyce Foundation, the McKnight Foundation, Madison Gas and Electric, and other federal agencies, foundations, and companies. At UW-Madison, she has been recognized for excellence in research, teaching and mentoring, with the Gaylord Nelson Distinguished Professor (2017-2021), the Phi Beta Kappa Excellence in Teaching Award (2019), Faculty Achievement Award, Leadership in Engineering Excellence and Diversity (2018), Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award (2018), and the Vilas Mid-Career Investigator Award (2017). National and international recognition includes the American Geophysical Union Ascent Award for mid-career excellence in the atmospheric sciences (2020), the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring to the Earth Science Women’s Network (PAESMEM, 2018; Holloway co-founded ESWN in 2002 and served as its first President from 2014-2017); the first-ever MIT C3E (Clean Energy Education & Empowerment Awards) award in Education and Mentoring (2012), and the Council on Undergraduate Research in the Geosciences (GeoCUR) Undergraduate Research Mentor Award (2012).  

Update Profile