Department Chair

Profile Photo Thumb for Regina Murphy

Regina M. Murphy


Smith-Bascom Professor

Contact: regina.murphy@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1587

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Research interests: Physical chemistry of protein-protein interactions, amyloid protein aggregation

Courses: Click to see my courses


 

 

Faculty

Profile Photo Thumb for William Banholzer

William Banholzer


Research Professor, Honorary Fellow Chemistry Department, Sr. Advisor Wisconsin Energy Institute

Contact: wbanholzer@wisc.edu, (608) 265-3413

Also: College of Engineering

Research interests: My interest centers on the commercialization of technology.  For society to benefit from a discovery it must be commercialized, typically through a company.  There is a fundamental difference between ...

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Chemistry


Profile Photo Thumb for James Dumesic

James A. Dumesic


Ernest Micek Distinguished Chair in Chemical and Biological Engineering

Contact: jdumesic@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1095

Research interests: Kinetics and catalysis, surface and solid-state chemistry, in situ catalyst studies

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Michael Graham

Michael David Graham


Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor and Harvey D. Spangler Professor

Contact: mdgraham@wisc.edu, (608) 265-3780

Also: Mechanical Engineering, Engineering Physics

Research interests: Applied and computational mathematics, Microstructural and multiscale simulations of complex fluids, applications to microfluidics, nanotechnology and biology, Viscoelastic and Newtonian fluid mechanics, especi...


Profile Photo Thumb for George Huber

George W. Huber


Professor and Harvey D. Spangler Professor

Contact: gwhuber@wisc.edu, (608) 263-0346

Research interests: Renewable Energy, Biofuels and Biochemicals, Heterogeneous Catalysis, Pyrolysis, Zeolites, Conceptual Process Design

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Daniel Klingenberg

Daniel J. Klingenberg


Professor

Contact: dan.klingenberg@wisc.edu, (608) 262-8932

Also: Materials Science and Engineering

Research interests: Colloid science, suspension rheology, electromagnetic phenomena in materials

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Thomas Kuech

Thomas F. Kuech


Milton J. and A. Maude Shoemaker and Beckwith-Bascom Professor

Contact: tfkuech@wisc.edu, (608) 263-2922

Also: Materials Science and Engineering

Research interests: Solid-state materials synthesis and characterization, electronic and semiconductor materials, solar energy and photovoltaics, oxide materials, nanostructure formation

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Chemistry


Profile Photo Thumb for David Lynn

David M. Lynn


Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor and Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor

Contact: david.lynn@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1086

Also: Materials Science and Engineering

Research interests:

    Polymers and soft materials, Surfaces and interfaces, Biomaterials and biotechnology, Gene and drug delivery, Synthesis and characterization, Controlled Release

    Courses: Click to see my courses

    Other affiliations: Chemistry


Profile Photo Thumb for Christos Maravelias

Christos T. Maravelias


Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor and Paul A. Elfers Professor

Contact: christos.maravelias@wisc.edu, (608) 265-9026

Also: Industrial and Systems Engineering

Research interests: Chemical production planning and scheduling, Optimization methods for process synthesis, Supply chain management, Computational methods for novel material discovery, Assessmsent of biomass-to-fuels/chemicals st...

Other affiliations: Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center


Profile Photo Thumb for Manos Mavrikakis

Manos Mavrikakis


Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor and Paul A. Elfers Professor.

Contact: emavrikakis@wisc.edu, (608) 262-9053

Research interests: Thermodynamics, kinetics and catalysis, surface science, computational chemistry, electronic materials, fuel cells applications, environmental chemical engineering

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Sean Palecek

Sean P. Palecek


Milton J. and A. Maude Shoemaker Professor

Contact: sppalecek@wisc.edu, (608) 262-8931

Also: Biomedical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering

Research interests: Cellular engineering, tissue engineering, stem cells, cell and protein biosensors

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Brian Pfleger

Brian F. Pfleger


Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Professor

Contact: brian.pfleger@wisc.edu, (608) 890-1940

Research interests: Metabolic Engineering, Biotechnology, Synthetic Biology, Natural Products, Protein Engineering, Cyanobacteria, Sustainability

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Biotechnology Training Program, Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program, Genome Sciences Training Program, Microbiology Doctoral Training Program


Profile Photo Thumb for Jennifer Reed

Jennifer Reed


Professor and Harvey D. Spangler Faculty Scholar in the College of Engineering

Contact: jennifer.reed@wisc.edu, (608) 262-0188

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Research interests: Systems biology, Metabolic model development & analysis, Metabolic engineering, Biofuels, bioremediation, & biotechnology

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Thatcher Root

Thatcher Root


Professor

Contact: twroot@wisc.edu

Also: Environmental Chemistry and Technology

Research interests: Surface chemistry, catalysis, diffusion in porous media, solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Eric Shusta

Eric V. Shusta


Howard Curler Distinguished Professor

Contact: eshusta@wisc.edu, (608) 265-5103

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Research interests: Brain drug delivery, blood-brain barrier modeling, biopharmaceutical design, protein engineering

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Ross Swaney

Ross E. Swaney


Associate Professor

Contact: ross.swaney@wisc.edu, (608) 262-3641

Research interests: Process systems design, modeling, and optimization.  Process modeling with guaranteed convergence.  Flowsheet synthesis of separation processes.

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Reid Van-lehn

Reid Van Lehn


Assistant Professor and Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Faculty Scholar

Contact: vanlehn@wisc.edu, (608) 263-9487

Research interests: Nano-bio interactions, Molecular simulation, Engineering nanomaterials, Soft materials, Multiscale modeling, Biomembranes, Virtual screening


Profile Photo Thumb for John Yin

John Yin


Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering, Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor,
Theme Leader of Wisconsin Institute for Discovery

Contact: john.yin@wisc.edu, (608) 316-4323

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Research interests:  systems biology - virus-host interactions, systems chemistry - molecular replicators

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Victor Zavala

Victor Zavala


Baldovin-DaPra Associate Professor

Contact: victor.zavala@wisc.edu, (608) 890-2111

Research interests: Large-Scale Computational Optimization, Stochastic and Multiobjective Optimization, Optimal Control, Estimation, and System Design

Other affiliations: Industrial and Systems Engineering


 

Affiliates

Profile Photo Thumb for Mark Etzel

Mark R. Etzel


Professor

Contact: mretzel@wisc.edu, (608) 263-2083

Research interests: Bioseparation processes, bioprocessing and food engineering, mass transfer

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Food Science


Profile Photo Thumb for Ive Hermans

Ive Hermans


John and Dorothy Vozza Professor

Contact: hermans@chem.wisc.edu

Research interests: Sustainable chemistry and catalysis engineering

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Chemistry


Profile Photo Thumb for Philip Romero

Philip A. Romero


Assistant Professor

Contact: promero2@wisc.edu, (608) 262-5943

Research interests: Protein engineering, computational biology, high-throughput technology

Other affiliations: Biochemistry


Profile Photo Thumb for James Schauer

James Jay Schauer


Professor

Contact: jjschauer@wisc.edu, (608) 262-4495

Also: Environmental Chemistry and Technology, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Research interests: I am interested in developing measurement and chemical characterization tools to quantitatively understand the origin and impacts of air pollution.  These tools are desgined to address the impacts of air p...

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene


Profile Photo Thumb for Saverio Spagnolie

Saverio E. Spagnolie


Assistant Professor

Contact: spagnolie@math.wisc.edu, (608) 262-3852

Research interests: Fluid Mechanics, Soft Matter, Biophysics, Applied Mathematics, Numerical Methods

Other affiliations: Mathematics


Profile Photo Thumb for Ophelia Venturelli

Ophelia S. Venturelli


Assistant Professor

Contact: venturelli@wisc.edu, (608) 263-7017

Research interests: Synthetic & systems biology, Computational modeling, Microbiome and human health

Other affiliations: Biochemistry


 

Emeritus Faculty

Profile Photo Thumb for R Bird

R Byron Bird


Professor Emeritus

Contact: rbbird@wisc.edu, (608) 262-5920

Research interests: Transport phenomena, polymer fluid dynamics, polymer kinetic theory, rheology

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Thomas Chapman

Thomas W. Chapman


Professor Emeritus

Contact: , (202) 265-8165

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Rheology Research Center


Profile Photo Thumb for Charles Hill

Charles G. Hill


John T. and Magdalen L. Sobota Professor Emeritus

Contact: cghill@wisc.edu, (608) 263-4593

Also: Environmental Chemistry and Technology

Research interests:


Profile Photo Thumb for Sangtae Kim

Sangtae Kim


Emeritus Professor


Profile Photo Thumb for James Rawlings

James B. Rawlings


Steenbock Professor and W. Harmon Ray Professor

Contact: james.rawlings@wisc.edu, (608) 263-5859

Research interests: Chemical process control, nonlinear model predictive control., State estimation and monitoring., Chemical reaction engineering., Virus modeling and stochastic chemical kinetics

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for W- Ray

W. Harmon Ray


Vilas Research Professor Emeritus

Contact: whray@wisc.edu, (608) 263-4732

Research interests: Polymerization processes, process optimization, dynamics and control, chemical reactor engineering

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Glenn Sather

Glenn A. Sather


Professor Emeritus

Contact: gasather@facstaff.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1092

Research interests: Stoichiometry, thermodynamics

Courses: Click to see my courses


 

Staff

Profile Photo Thumb for Rafael Chavez

Rafael Chavez


Senior Lecturer

Contact: rafael.chavez@wisc.edu, (608) 263-1979

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Eric Codner

Eric Codner


Faculty Associate

Contact: edcodner@wisc.edu, (608) 263-3130

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Susann Ely

Susann Eva S. Ely


Senior Communications Specialist

Contact: sely@wisc.edu, (608) 262-7775

Also: College of Engineering


Profile Photo Thumb for Janet Fredrick

Janet Fredrick


Senior Administrative Program Specialist

Contact: janet.fredrick@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1093

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Oscar Garcia-romero

Oscar Garcia-Romero


Senior Financial Specialist


Profile Photo Thumb for Andrew Greenberg

Andrew Greenberg


Distinguished Faculty Associate


Profile Photo Thumb for Michelle Kirch

Michelle Kirch


Accountant

Contact: michelle.kirch@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1190

Also: College of Engineering


Profile Photo Thumb for Renee Lefkow

Renee Lefkow


Senior Student Services Coordinator

Contact: renee.lefkow@wisc.edu, (608) 263-3138

Also: College of Engineering, Student Services, Chemical and Biological Engineering


Profile Photo Thumb for Judith Lewison

Judith Lewison


University Services Program Associate B

Contact: judith.lewison@wisc.edu, (608) 263-0288

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Angela Machovec

Angela Machovec


Accountant

Contact: amachovec@wisc.edu, (608) 263-7670

Also: College of Engineering


Profile Photo Thumb for Rosalind Mckennon

Rosalind Mckennon


Administrative Assistant

Contact: rmckennon@wisc.edu, (608) 263-7890


Profile Photo Thumb for James Miller

James B. Miller


Faculty Associate


Profile Photo Thumb for Michael Morris

Michael Morris


Department Administrator

Contact: mwmorris@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1094

Also: College of Engineering


Profile Photo Thumb for Theresa Neisius

Theresa Neisius


Payroll & Benefits Specialist

Contact: tneisius@wisc.edu, (608) 265-4036


Profile Photo Thumb for Todd Ninman

Todd Ninman


Senior Information Processing Consultant

Contact: todd.ninman@wisc.edu, (608) 262-0636


Profile Photo Thumb for Russ Poyner

Russ Poyner


Sr. Information Process Consultant

Contact: russell.poyner@wisc.edu, (608) 262-7727

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Lynn Robinson

Lynn Robinson


Inventory Control Assistant

Contact: lrobinson4@wisc.edu, (608) 262-1141


Profile Photo Thumb for Steven Schumacher

Steven S. Schumacher


Instrument Maker Adv.

Contact: ssschuma@wisc.edu, (608) 262-7396

Also: College of Engineering