Department Chair

Profile Photo Thumb for Douglas Reindl

Douglas Reindl


Professor, Department Chair

Contact: dreindl@wisc.edu, (608) 262-6381

Also: Mechanical Engineering

Research interests: Industrial refrigeration systems and technologies, safety and process safety management, refrigeration system modeling, advanced thermal storage technologies, energy, HVAC systems

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Industrial Refrigeration Consortium


 

Marketing Director

Profile Photo Thumb for David Peterson

David Peterson


Assistant Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: dmpeter5@wisc.edu, (608) 262-2813

Also: College of Engineering

Research interests: Railroad Engineering and Operations, Preparing to Pass the Civil P.E. Exam, Financial Administration of Continuing Education Programs, Marketing and Budgeting for Co

Courses: Click to see my courses


 

Business Director

Profile Photo Thumb for Susan Ottmann

Susan Ottmann


Program Director

Contact: sottmann@wisc.edu, (608) 262-3516

Also: College of Engineering

Research interests: ManufacturingLean ManufacturingQualityProgram ManagementLeadership

Courses: Click to see my courses


 

Program Directors

Profile Photo Thumb for Joy Altwies

Joy Altwies


Associate Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: joy.altwies@wisc.edu, (608) 262-7502

Research interests: Green and High-Performance Buildings, Sustainable Construction, Building Commissioning, Commissioning Process, HVAC & R Systems, Technology Innovation and Adoption

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Sandra Anderson

Sandra Anderson


Asst Faculty Associate

Contact: sandra.anderson@wisc.edu, (608) 890-2026

Also: College of Engineering

Research interests: Combustion, Propulsion, Thermodynamic Systesms

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Michael Andrie

Michael Andrie


Researcher/Program Director

Contact: mandrie@wisc.edu, (608) 263-1615

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Elaine Andrysick

Elaine Andrysick


Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: embower@wisc.edu, (608) 262-8708

Research interests: Trace chemical detection for forensic applications, unique biosensors for non-traditional applications, chemical engineering unit operations including mixing, drying, separations, biotechnology, strategic R&...

Courses: Click to see my courses



Profile Photo Thumb for John Davis

John G. Davis


Assistant Faculty Associate

Contact: jgdavis2@wisc.edu, (608) 262-8724

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Todd Jekel

Todd B. Jekel


Associate Scientist

Contact: tbjekel@wisc.edu, (608) 265-3008

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Benjamin Jordan

Benjamin J Jordan


Associate Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: bjordan@wisc.edu, (608) 265-4478

Research interests: Asphalt Pavement Condition Assesment, Maintenance, Repair and Rehabilitation , Concrete Pavement Condition Assesment, Maintenance, Repair, and Rehabilitation, Snow and Ice Control and Winter Maintenance Operati...

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Transportation Information Center


Profile Photo Thumb for Mark Malkin

Mark Malkin


Faculty Associate/Program Director


Profile Photo Thumb for Christine Nicometo

Christine Nicometo


Associate Faculty Associate

Contact: nicometo@wisc.edu, (608) 890-0800

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Jeffrey Oelke

Jeffrey L. Oelke


Assistant Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: joelke@wisc.edu, (608) 890-1189

Research interests: Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Business and Production Operations Process Predictability, Continuum Management, Quick Response Manufacturing, Lean, Six Sigma, Theory of Constraints, Performance Measu...

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Ned Paschke

Ned W. Paschke


Program Director, Professor of Engineering Practice

Contact: paschke@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-4705

Also: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Research interests: Water and Wastewater Treatment Systems, Hydraulic Analysis and Design, Pumping Facilities and Lift Stations, Energy Use in Water and Wastewater Systems, Water Reuse and Recycling, Infrastructure Asset Managemen...

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Wayne Pferdehirt

Wayne Pferdehirt


Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: wayne.pferdehirt@wisc.edu, (608) 265-2361

Also: College of Engineering

Research interests: Project management, distance education, engineering leadership, engineering management, pollution prevention, solid waste management, recycling, technical assistance to manufacturing, environment management sys...

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Solid and Hazardous Waste Education Center


Profile Photo Thumb for John Raksany

John A. Raksany


Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: raksany@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-8592

Research interests: Electrical power, electrical design, power systems planning, power systems reliability analysis methods, power systems maintenance, power system protection and control

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Franklin Rath

Franklin J. Rath


Associate Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: rath@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-5989

Research interests: Manufacturing and industrial engineering, ergonomics, lead-time reduction, quality systems, design through manufacture, failure mode and effects analysis, quality function deployment

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Kevin Rogers

Kevin J. Rogers


Faculty Associate / Program Director

Contact: kevin.rogers@wisc.edu, (608) 263-0784

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Bulent Sarlioglu

Bulent Sarlioglu


Associate Professor

Contact: sarlioglu@wisc.edu, (608) 262-2703

Also: Electrical and Computer Engineering

Research interests: Electric machines, drives, power electronics, Electric actuation systems, Automotive, aerospace, naval and renewable energy applications, Complex and interdisciplinary power system architecture

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Wisconsin Energy Institute


Profile Photo Thumb for James Tinjum

James Tinjum


Associate Professor

Contact: jmtinjum@wisc.edu, (608) 262-0785

Also: Geological Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Research interests: Subgrade/subbase improvement and design, wind energy civil and geotechnical design, geothermal heating and cooling, unsaturated soil testing and research, rail ballast testing and research, stabilization and re...

Courses: Click to see my courses


 

Distance Degree Faculty

Profile Photo Thumb for James Blanchard

James P. Blanchard


Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor

Contact: blanchard@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-0391

Research interests: Thermomechanical design for high heat fluxes, fusion technology, radiation damage, nuclear microbatteries

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Wisconsin Institute of Nuclear Systems (WINS)


Profile Photo Thumb for James Davis

James L. Davis


Professor

Contact: jldavis1@wisc.edu, (608) 262-4810

Research interests: Technical Japanese, technical Chinese

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Certificate in International Engineering, Certificate in Japanese Studies for Engineering Students


Profile Photo Thumb for Neil Duffie

Neil A. Duffie


Professor Emeritus

Contact: neil.duffie@wisc.edu, (608) 262-3543

Research interests: Robotics, computer control, manufacturing process automation, dynamics and robustness of production planning and control, distributed system control, manufacturing systems, manufacturing logistics, computer-int...

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Manufacturing Systems Engineering Program, Master of Engineering in Engine Systems


Profile Photo Thumb for Kevin Hoag

Kevin L. Hoag


Associate Faculty Associate

Contact: hoag@wisc.edu, (210) 259-3956

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Terry Mann

Terry Mann


Senior Lecturer

Contact: tmmann@wisc.edu, (715) 574-5679

Courses: Click to see my courses


 

Emeritus Faculty

Profile Photo Thumb for Thomas Blewett

Thomas J. Blewett


Professor

Contact: blewett@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0936

Research interests: Industrial and small business pollution prevention, solid waste planning and management, organics management and composting, rural fuel storage systems, environmental compliance regulations

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Solid and Hazardous Waste Education Center


Profile Photo Thumb for Charles Dorgan

Charles E. Dorgan


Professor Emeritus

Contact: cedorgan@facstaff.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0692

Also: Mechanical Engineering

Research interests: Energy management, manufacturing processes, laboratory design, heating and air conditioning, thermal storage energy, cogeneration, indoor air quality, productivity, refrigeration, building design

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Energy Technology Center


Profile Photo Thumb for Patrick Eagan

Patrick Eagan, PhD


Professor

Contact: eagan@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-7429

Also: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Research interests: Professor Eagan's research interests lie in exploring frameworks that can move public and private institutions toward "sustainable development." A primary interest is how both public and private institutions wi...

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for David Liebl

David S. Liebl


Faculty Associate - Emeritus


Profile Photo Thumb for Willis Long

Willis F. Long


Professor Emeritus

Contact: willis@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1199

Research interests: Electric power systems, utility system applications of power electronic devices and circuits, power quality issues, computer analysis of power systems

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Raymond Matulionis

Raymond C. Matulionis


Professor Emeritus

Contact: matulionis@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-3372

Research interests: Architecture, architectural engineering, environmental design, urban development

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Philip OLeary

Philip R. O'Leary


Professor

Contact: oleary@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0493

Also: Biological Systems Engineering

Research interests: Solid waste management: landfilling, composting, recycling, groundwater quality

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Gaylord Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies, Solid and Hazardous Waste Education Center


Profile Photo Thumb for Stephen Pudloski

Stephen T. Pudloski


Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: pudloski@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-8707

Research interests: Stormwater management and engineering, traffic and parking engineering, municipal engineering, public works management

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Transportation Information Center


Profile Photo Thumb for Rolf Reitz

Rolf Reitz


Wisconsin Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Contact: reitz@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0145

Also: College of Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Research interests: Combustion, gas dynamics, sprays-motion & formation, hydrocarbon kinetics, engine fluid dynamics, computer modeling

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Howard Rosen

Howard Rosen


Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: rosen@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-4341

Research interests: Public works infrastructure, municipal engineering, stormwater hyraulics, docks and marinas, building code, transportation research and history

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: National Center for Freight and Infrastructure Research and Education


Profile Photo Thumb for Paul Ross

Paul L. Ross


Faculty Associate

Contact: pross@epd.engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-5171

Research interests: Technical communication

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Technical Communication Certificate Program


Profile Photo Thumb for Donald Schramm

Donald Schramm


Faculty Associate/Program Director Emeritus

Contact: dschramm@wisc.edu, (608) 263-7757

Research interests: Architectural lighting/daylighting, building energy systems, creativity, distance learning, disaster/refugee emergency management, international engineering, professional practice, team building

Courses: Click to see my courses

Other affiliations: Master of Engineering in Engineering Management


Profile Photo Thumb for Thomas Smith

Thomas W. Smith


Faculty Associate/Program Director

Contact: twsmith@wisc.edu, (608) 263-7426

Research interests: Management Systems applied to asset management and sustainability, Organizational strategy for asset management and sustainability, Competency Modelling, Distance Learning

Courses: Click to see my courses


Profile Photo Thumb for Carl Vieth

Carl Vieth


Emeritus Faculty Associate

Contact: vieth@wisc.edu

Research interests: Educational Policy Studies, Public Health Education, Engineering Education

Courses: Click to see my courses