College of Engineering Faculty and Staff Directory

 

Faculty List | Staff List

Profile Photo Thumb for Thomas Kuech

Thomas Kuech
Milton J. and A. Maude Shoemaker and Beckwith-Bascom Professor and Chair

Also: Materials Science and Engineering, Materials Science Program

Solid-state materials synthesis and characterization, electronic and semiconductor materials, solar energy and photovoltaics, oxide materials, nanostructure formation
kuech@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-2922

Chemistry


 

Faculty

Profile Photo Thumb for Nicholas Abbott

Nicholas Abbott
John T. and Magdalen L. Sobota Professor and Director, Materials Research and Engineering Center

Also: Materials Science Program

Interfacial phenomena, colloid science, soft materials, biomolecular interfaces, polymers, liquid crystals and surfactant, hydrophobic effect
abbott@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 265-5278

University of Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center


Profile Photo Thumb for William Banholzer

William F Banholzer
Research Professor, Honorary Fellow Chemistry Department, Sr. Advisor Wisconsin Energy Institute

My interest centers on the commercialization of technology.  For society to benefit from a discovery it must be commercialized, typically through a company.  There is a fundamental difference between technologies that are possible and those that are practical.  I enjoy research on materials  and process development with emphasis on the...
wbanholzer@wisc.edu, (608) 265-3413

Wisconsin Energy Institute


Profile Photo Thumb for James Dumesic

James A. Dumesic
Steenbock Professor and Michel Boudart Professor

Kinetics and catalysis, surface and solid-state chemistry, in situ catalyst studies
dumesic@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1095


Profile Photo Thumb for Michael Graham

Michael D. Graham
Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor and Harvey D. Spangler Professor

Also: Mechanical Engineering, Engineering Physics

Applied and computational mathematics, Microstructural and multiscale simulations of complex fluids, applications to microfluidics, nanotechnology and biology, Viscoelastic and Newtonian fluid mechanics, especially stability and nonlinear dynamics
graham@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 265-3780


Profile Photo Thumb for George Huber

George W. Huber
Professor

Renewable Energy, Biofuels and Biochemicals, Heterogeneous Catalysis, Pyrolysis, Zeolites, Conceptual Process Design
huber@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-0346


Profile Photo Thumb for Daniel Klingenberg

Daniel J. Klingenberg
Professor

Also: Materials Science Program

Colloid science, suspension rheology, electromagnetic phenomena in materials
klingen@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-8932


Profile Photo Thumb for David Lynn

David M. Lynn
Professor

Also: Materials Science Program


Profile Photo Thumb for Christos Maravelias

Christos T. Maravelias
Associate Professor

Also: Industrial and Systems Engineering

Chemical production planning and scheduling, Optimization methods for process synthesis, Supply chain management, Computational methods for novel material discovery, Assessmsent of biomass-to-fuels/chemicals strategies
christos@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 265-9026


Profile Photo Thumb for Manos Mavrikakis

Manos Mavrikakis
Paul A. Elfers Professor

Thermodynamics, kinetics and catalysis, surface science, computational chemistry, electronic materials, fuel cells applications, environmental chemical engineering
manos@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-9053


Profile Photo Thumb for Regina Murphy

Regina M. Murphy
Smith-Bascom Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Physical chemistry of protein-protein interactions, amyloid protein aggregation
regina@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1587


Profile Photo Thumb for Sean Palecek

Sean P. Palecek
Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering, Materials Science Program

Cellular engineering, tissue engineering, stem cells, cell and protein biosensors
palecek@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-8931


Profile Photo Thumb for Brian Pfleger

Brian F. Pfleger
Associate Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Metabolic Engineering, Biotechnology, Synthetic Biology, Natural Products, Protein Engineering, Cyanobacteria, Sustainability
pfleger@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 890-1940

Microbiology Doctoral Training Program, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program, Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program, Biotechnology Training Program, Genome Sciences Training Program


Profile Photo Thumb for James Rawlings

James B. Rawlings
Paul A. Elfers Professor and W. Harmon Ray Professor

Chemical process control, nonlinear model predictive control., State estimation and monitoring., Chemical reaction engineering., Virus modeling and stochastic chemical kinetics
rawlings@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-5859


Profile Photo Thumb for Jennifer Reed

Jennifer L. Reed
Associate Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Systems biology, Metabolic model development & analysis, Metabolic engineering, Biofuels, bioremediation, & biotechnology
reed@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0188


Profile Photo Thumb for Thatcher Root

Thatcher W Root
Professor

Also: Environmental Chemistry and Technology, Materials Science Program

Surface chemistry, catalysis, diffusion in porous media, solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy
thatcher@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-8999


Profile Photo Thumb for Eric Shusta

Eric V. Shusta
Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Brain drug delivery, blood-brain barrier engineering, biopharmaceutical design, protein engineering
shusta@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1092


Profile Photo Thumb for Ross Swaney

Ross E. Swaney
Associate Professor

Process systems design, modeling, and optimization.  Process modeling with guaranteed convergence.  Flowsheet synthesis of separation processes.
swaney@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-3641


Profile Photo Thumb for John Yin

John Yin
Professor, Chemical & Biological Engineering; Systems Biology, Theme Leader, WID

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Virus-host interactions, systems biology, microfluidics, pre-biotic chemistr
yin@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 316-4323


 

Affiliates

Profile Photo Thumb for Mark Etzel

Mark R. Etzel
Associate Professor

Bioseparation processes, bioprocessing and food engineering, mass transfer
etzel@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-2083

Food Science


Profile Photo Thumb for Ive Hermans

Ive Hermans
Associate Professor

Sustainable chemistry and catalysis engineering
hermans@chem.wisc.edu,

Chemistry


Profile Photo Thumb for James Schauer

James Jay Schauer
Professor

Also: Civil and Environmental Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology, Mechanical Engineering

I am interested in developing measurement and chemical characterization tools to quantitatively understand the origin and impacts of air pollution.  These tools are desgined to address the impacts of air pollution on human health, climate change and sensitive ecosystems, and to support the development of control strategies to mitigate the adverse eff...
jjschauer@wisc.edu, (608) 262-4495

Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene


 

Emeritus Faculty

Profile Photo Thumb for Byron Bird

Byron Bird
Professor Emeritus

Transport phenomena, polymer fluid dynamics, polymer kinetic theory, rheology
bird@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-5920



Profile Photo Thumb for Charles Hill

Charles G Hill
John T. and Magdalen L. Sobota Professor Emeritus

Also: Environmental Chemistry and Technology


Profile Photo Thumb for Sangtae Kim

Sangtae Kim
Emeritus Professor


Profile Photo Thumb for Edwin Lightfoot

Edwin N. Lightfoot
Hilldale Professor Emeritus

Separations processes, biological mass-transfer processes, mass-transport reaction modeling
lightfoot@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-6934


Profile Photo Thumb for W Ray

W Harmon Ray
Vilas Research Professor Emeritus

Polymerization processes, process optimization, dynamics and control, chemical reactor engineering
ray@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-4732


Profile Photo Thumb for Dale Rudd

Dale F. Rudd
Professor Emeritus

After retirement in 1994 Sandy and I moved to Seattle. Our home has a wide view of Puget Sound and the snow-capped mountains of Olympic National Park. Our children Karen and David both live within walking distance. The Pacific Northwest is great.
daleandsandy@yahoo.com, (206) 923-0359


Profile Photo Thumb for Glenn Sather

Glenn A. Sather
Professor Emeritus

Stoichiometry, thermodynamics
gasather@facstaff.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1092


 

 

Create new profile