College of Engineering Faculty and Staff Directory

 

Faculty List | Staff List

Thomas F. Kuech
Milton J. and A. Maude Shoemaker and Beckwith-Bascom Professor and Chair

Also: Materials Science and Engineering, Materials Science Program

Solid-state materials synthesis and characterization, electronic and semiconductor materials, solar energy and photovoltaics, oxide materials, nanostructure formation
kuech@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-2922


 

Faculty

Nicholas Abbott
John T. and Magdalen L. Sobota Professor and Director, Materials Research and Engineering Center

Also: Materials Science Program

Interfacial phenomena, colloid science, soft materials, biomolecular interfaces, polymers, liquid crystals and surfactant, hydrophobic effect
abbott@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 265-5278

University of Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center


William F Banholzer
Research Professor, Honorary Fellow Chemistry Department, Sr. Advisor Wisconsin Energy Institute

My interest centers on the commercialization of technology.  For society to benefit from a discovery it must be commercialized, typically through a company.  There is a fundamental difference between technologies that are possible and those that are practical.  I enjoy research on materials  and process development with emphasis on the...
wbanholzer@wisc.edu, (608) 265-3413

Wisconsin Energy Institute


James A. Dumesic
Steenbock Professor and Michel Boudart Professor

Kinetics and catalysis, surface and solid-state chemistry, in situ catalyst studies
dumesic@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1095


Michael D. Graham
Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor and Harvey D. Spangler Professor

Also: Mechanical Engineering, Engineering Physics

Applied and computational mathematics, Microstructural and multiscale simulations of complex fluids, applications to microfluidics, nanotechnology and biology, Viscoelastic and Newtonian fluid mechanics, especially stability and nonlinear dynamics
graham@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 265-3780


George W. Huber
Professor

Renewable Energy, Biofuels and Biochemicals, Heterogeneous Catalysis, Pyrolysis, Zeolites, Conceptual Process Design
huber@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-0346


Daniel J. Klingenberg
Professor

Also: Materials Science Program

Colloid science, suspension rheology, electromagnetic phenomena in materials
klingen@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-8932


David M. Lynn
Professor

Also: Materials Science Program


Christos T. Maravelias
Associate Professor

Also: Industrial and Systems Engineering

Chemical production planning and scheduling, Optimization methods for process synthesis, Supply chain management, Computational methods for novel material discovery, Assessmsent of biomass-to-fuels/chemicals strategies
christos@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 265-9026


Manos Mavrikakis
Paul A. Elfers Professor

Thermodynamics, kinetics and catalsis, surface science, computationalc hemistry, electronic medals, fuel cells applications, environmental chemical engineering
manos@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-9053


Regina M. Murphy
Smith-Bascom Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Physical chemistry of protein-protein interactions, amyloid protein aggregation
regina@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1587


Sean P. Palecek
Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering, Materials Science Program

Cellular engineering, tissue engineering, stem cells, cell and protein biosensors
palecek@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-8931


Brian F. Pfleger
Associate Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Metabolic Engineering, Biotechnology, Synthetic Biology, Natural Products, Protein Engineering, Cyanobacteria, Sustainability
pfleger@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 890-1940

Microbiology Doctoral Training Program, Cellular and Molecular Biology Program, Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program, Biotechnology Training Program, Genome Sciences Training Program


James B. Rawlings
Paul A. Elfers Professor and W. Harmon Ray Professor

Chemical process control, nonlinear model predictive control., State estimation and monitoring., Chemical reaction engineering., Virus modeling and stochastic chemical kinetics
rawlings@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-5859


Jennifer L. Reed
Associate Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Systems biology, Metabolic model development & analysis, Metabolic engineering, Biofuels, bioremediation, & biotechnology
reed@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-0188


Thatcher W Root
Professor

Also: Environmental Chemistry and Technology, Materials Science Program

Surface chemistry, catalysis, diffusion in porous media, solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy
thatcher@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-8999


Eric V. Shusta
Professor

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Brain drug delivery, blood-brain barrier engineering, biopharmaceutical design, protein engineering
shusta@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1092


Ross E. Swaney
Associate Professor

Process systems design, modeling, and optimization.  Process modeling with guaranteed convergence.  Flowsheet synthesis of separation processes.
swaney@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-3641


John Yin
Professor, Chemical & Biological Engineering; Systems Biology, Theme Leader, WID

Also: Biomedical Engineering

Virus-host interactions, systems biology, microfluidics, pre-biotic chemistr
yin@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 316-4323


 

Affiliates

Mark R. Etzel
Associate Professor

Bioseparation processes, bioprocessing and food engineering, mass transfer
etzel@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-2083

Food Science


Ive Hermans
Associate Professor

Sustainable chemistry and catalysis engineering
hermans@chem.wisc.edu,

Chemistry


James Jay Schauer
Professor

Also: Civil and Environmental Engineering, Environmental Chemistry and Technology

I am interested in developing measurement and chemical characterization tools to quantitatively understand the origin and impacts of air pollution.  These tools are desgined to address the impacts of air pollution on human health, climate change and sensitive ecosystems, and to support the development of control strategies to mitigate the adverse eff...
jjschauer@wisc.edu, (608) 262-4495

Molecular and Environmental Toxicology Center, Gaylord Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies, Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene


 

Emeritus Faculty

Byron Bird
Professor Emeritus

Transport phenomena, polymer fluid dynamics, polymer kinetic theory, rheology
bird@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-5920



Charles G Hill
John T. and Magdalen L. Sobota Professor Emeritus

Also: Environmental Chemistry and Technology


Edwin N. Lightfoot
Hilldale Professor Emeritus

Separations processes, biological mass-transfer processes, mass-transport reaction modeling
lightfoot@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 262-6934


W Harmon Ray
Vilas Research Professor Emeritus

Polymerization processes, process optimization, dynamics and control, chemical reactor engineering
ray@engr.wisc.edu, (608) 263-4732


Dale F. Rudd
Professor Emeritus

After retirement in 1994 Sandy and I moved to Seattle. Our home has a wide view of Puget Sound and the snow-capped mountains of Olympic National Park. Our children Karen and David both live within walking distance. The Pacific Northwest is great.
daleandsandy@yahoo.com, (206) 923-0359


Glenn A. Sather
Professor Emeritus

Stoichiometry, thermodynamics
gasather@facstaff.wisc.edu, (608) 262-1092


 

 

Create new profile